ITIL V3 Foundation

Over the years I’ve generally sneered a bit at things like BS5750, ISO 9000, and more recently ITIL. It’s all a bit tedious and boring, involving endless documentation, dreary standards to follow, and not part of the exciting technology I wanted to work with when I entered the IT industry.

However, we were all pushed recently to undertake a very basic ITIL Awareness training course, and I was surprised at how much of it I knew just from the way things have been driven on the account I’ve worked on over the last 10 years.

On top of that, we had a significant business re-organisation recently, and one of the suggested requirements for the role I’m now in was the ITIL V3 Foundation certification.

So, I thought I may as well have a go.

I spent quite a few hours on the online training provided internally by SkillSoft, as well as utilising my free training at Pluralsight (as a current vExpert), and the study notes shared by Edward Chung

Today I made the journey up to Leeds (there appear to be no Prometric or Pearson Vue testing centres in Sheffield these days), to attempt the certification.

It’s a 40 multiple choice question exam, allowed 1 hour for completion – so quite a lot shorter than the recent VMware exams I’ve been taking. I must have revised well as I got through the 40 questions in under 10 minutes! Another 10 minutes re-checking the ones I’d had to think about, then I hit the End Test button.

The slightly ancient PC then paused for what seemed like an age before confirming that I’d passed, with a score of 98% – I just got the one question wrong, and I even think I know which one!

Do I recommend it? If your company is a believer in ITIL, then definitely – it’s not a difficult exam. If they don’t, well it may still give you some ideas about how things can be done better.

I can’t believe I’m championing one of those boring methodologies that I used to turn my nose up at, I must have a lie down….

Leave a Reply

